Bayelsa rerun: APGA wins state assembly seat



Bayelsa rerun: APGA wins state assembly seat

Related posts

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the All Progressives Grand Alliance candidate, Waikumo Amakoromo, the winner of the Yenagoa Constituency 2 run-off election conducted on Saturday.


Amakoromo polled a total of 5,959 votes to defeat his major opponent, Mrs Ebiuwou Koku-Obiyai of the Peoples Democratic Party, who scored a total of 5,263 votes.

The INEC Returning Officer and Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Federal University, Otuoke, Prof Chris Onyema, announced the results at the INEC collation centre, Okolobiri, headquarters of the Yenagoa constituency 2 on Saturday night.

Onyema said the APGA candidate scored the highest number of votes cast and declared him as the winner of the re-run poll for Yenagoa constituency 2.

Before the collation exercise commenced, he had explained that “whatever results collated today will be merged with the previous results and the total scores declared.”

In the March 2023 State House of Assembly election, the APGA candidate had polled 4, 971 votes while the PDP candidate scored 4,593 votes.

Koku-Obiyai, who was seeking a third term, lost her bid to retain the Yenagoa constituency 2 seat, following Amakoromo’s victory.

Dissatisfied, she instituted a legal action to challenge the outcome of the poll and the Court of Appeal ordered a rerun in the affected seven polling units.

The conclusion of Saturday’s re-run election in the affected seven polling units has effectively resolved the contention for the Yenagoa constituency 2 seat in the 24-member legislature.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a Reply

Related Posts

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.