62 Senators-Elect Reject Akpabio, Endorsed Another Candidate For Senate President – Sources



62 Senators-Elect Reject Akpabio, Endorsed Another Candidate For Senate President – Sources

Related posts

Baring last minute changes ahead of the 10th Senate leadership and Inauguration, 62 out of 109 elected senators endorsed Senator Barau Jibrin from Kano State for the position of Senate President sources have reveals.


This was disclosed by an a source close to Sen. Barau Jubrin from the Northwest after an emergency meeting in the early hours of Tuesday in Abuja

The source explained that 62 Senators Elect have so far endorsed Senator Jibrin confirming 46 of them were physically present at the all night meeting held at the Transcorp Hotel The meeting was centred on strategizing to mobilise other Senators elect to join hands in delivering Senator Barau Jibrin as the 10th Senate President He said:

“The Lawmakers-elect, were against the nomination of Akpabio as Senate president”.

We Know that the Tinubu’s preference for Akpabio was only to carry the Christians in Nigeria along, and not necessarily because of his competence or contribution to the success of the party. Unfortunately Akpabio would not be able to pilot the affairs of the parliament”, the source said.

He further said, “We shall resist any attempt to anoint him or any aspirant on us, we are not children therefore capable of sorting ourselves to ensure that the Senate Presidency go to a competent and qualify Senator preferably from the Northwest and not the South, given the contributions of the zone to the victory of Tinubu during the February presidential Election”.

According to him, the North has contributed over 63 per cent of the votes that drove Tinubu to victory. “We chose Jibrin because of his competent and unblemished records, he is also the highest-ranking, longest-serving legislator in the Senate, and the most qualified to be the 10th Senate President”. Lawan Is Against Me, Working Hard To Stop My Senate Presidency Bid – Akpabio Laments

Furthermore, the source said in the 109-seat Senate, the APC has 59 senators, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) 36; Labour Party (LP) eight, New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) two, Social Democratic Party (SDP) two, Young Progressives Party (YPP) and the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) one seat each. 62 Senators-Elect Reject Akpabio, Endorsed Barau Jibrin For Senate President

To win the Senate presidency, a simple majority of votes is required when the parliament is inaugurated in June after the transmission of a letter of a proclamation by the president to the Clerk of the National Assembly.

Share this post


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Kindly accept our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy .

Related Posts

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.