Just In : NUC Approves 8 Programmes For Confluence University, Kogi



Just In : NUC Approves 8 Programmes For Confluence University, Kogi

Related posts



The National Universities Commission (NUC) has formally granted approval for the establishment of eight Science and Technology Education programmes to Confluence University of Science and Technology (CUSTECH), Osara.

A statement signed by the Registrar of the school, Ms Olufunke Hudson listed the programmes as Biology Education, Chemistry Education, Mathematics Education, Physics Education and Computer Science Education.


Others include Geography Education, Library and Information Science, and Technology Education among other programmes.

The statement added that the programmes are to run in a dedicated academic unit, Faculty of Science and Technology Education.

“The faculty is provided with necessary resources, human and material, in line with set standards to train professional teachers for the secondary and technical schools in the State and the country in general.

“The establishment of the programmes has become very important in view of the State Government’s determination to improve on quality and access to all levels of education in the State with the recent creation of more tertiary and technical educational institutions.

“Besides, secondary and technical institutions are the providers of the basic inputs into tertiary institutions and with the expansion of tertiary education in general, high-quality inputs into the institutions are in greater demand.

“ It is therefore a compelling necessity that the quality of secondary and technical education should be strengthened to enable them to perform the expected role in the education sector,” it said.

The statement noted that with the establishment of eight more programmes, the school now has a total number of 38 programmes, and all are available for the on-going 2023/2024 admissions.

‘The existing programmes are Science-Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Statistics, Microbiology, Biochemistry, Geology and Applied Geophysics; Computing-Computer Science, Software Engineering, Cybersecurity, and Information Technology; and Engineering-Chemical, Civil, Electrical/Electronics, Mechanical, Computer and Mining Engineering.

“Others are Environmental- Architecture, Building, Surveying and Geoinformatics, Urban and Regional Planning, and Geography; and Management and Social Sciences. Accounting, Business Administration, Economics, Human Resource Management, Transport and Logistics Management and Actuarial Science.


“All the programmes are currently accessible on the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) platform for interested candidates to select. Candidates who are interested in any of the university’s programmes can effect change of their first-choice institution to Confluence University of Science and Technology, Osara,” the statement said.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a Reply

Related Posts

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.