FULL LIST: Jonathan missing as APC names 23 presidential aspirants for screening


FULL LIST: Jonathan missing as APC names 23 presidential aspirants for screening

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has listed the 23 presidential aspirants expected to be commenced screening on Monday.

Related posts

The APC fixed Monday and Tuesday for the screening of the party’s presidential aspirants.


A total of 23 presidential aspirants are to participate in the screening exercise but former President Goodluck Jonathan is not on the list of presidential aspirants.

According to party guidelines, 11 aspirants are expected to be screened on Monday, while the remaining 12 are scheduled to participate in the exercise on Tuesday.

Former President Goodluck Jonathan is not on the list of presidential aspirants expected to be screened by the APC.

In April 2022, after supporters besieged his Abuja residence to ask him to contest the 2023 presidential election, Jonathan had not given a definite response.

“You are calling me to come and declare for the next election. I cannot tell you I’m declaring. The political process is ongoing. Just watch out,” he had said.

Days after, a northern coalition bought the APC presidential expression of interest and nomination forms for him, but the former president had denied approving the purchase.

Despite ongoing speculations about him contesting, the former president is still yet to make any definitive statement on if he will seek a return bid.

Felix Morka, the APC spokesman, had said 28 presidential forms were purchased, but three persons — Chris Ngige, Minister of Labour; Timipre Sylva, Minister of State For petroleum: and Godwin Emefiele, governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) — did not submit their forms.

A form was also purchased for Akinwumi Adesina, president of the African Development Bank (AfDB), but he had said he was not interested in contesting.

Below are the names of the presidential hopefuls for screening as listed by APC.

Chukwuemeja Uwaezuoke Nwajiuba
Badaru Abubakar
Robert A. Boroffice
Uju Ken-Ohanenye
Nicholas Felix
Nweze David Umahi
Ken Nnamani
Gbolahan B. Bakare
Ibikunle Amosun
Ahmed B. Tinubu
Ahmad Rufai Sani
Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi
Oladimeji Sabon Bankole
John Kayode Fayemi
Godswill Obot Akpabio
Yemi Osinbajo
Rochas Anayo Okorocha
Yahaya Bello
Tein Jack-Rich
Christopher Onu
Ahmad Lawan
Ben Ayade
Ikeobasi Mokelu
The APC presidential primary was earlier scheduled to hold on May 29 and 30.

However, on Friday, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) announced a postponement of the June 3 deadline for primaries after a meeting with the Inter-Party Advisory Council (IPAC).

INEC has now given political parties till June 9 to conclude all matters on primaries for the 2023 general election.

Following the postponement of the deadline for primaries by the electoral commission, the APC had also announced a shift in the date for its primary.

The exercise will now hold from June 6 to 8 in Abuja.


Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a Reply

Related Posts

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.